Skip to content
Massachusetts Eye and Ear


Cornea Fellowship

Phone number forOphthalmic Education


With an unparalleled record of training and mentoring the leaders in the field, Mass. Eye and Ear's Cornea, External Disease, and Refractive Surgery Fellowship Program has served as the foundation for many academic leaders throughout the world. Including our basic scientists, we have more than 35 cornea faculty members and 115 MDs and PhDs who are engaged in corneal research.

Cornea fellows develop advanced diagnostic and surgical skills by providing care for patients with a wide variety of complex disorders of the anterior segment. Fellows will:

  • Examine patients and/or research subjects in the Cornea Service
  • Participate in corneal and refractive surgeries
  • Provide consultation for Massachusetts General Hospital, Shriners Hospital Boston, and Brigham & Women’s Hospital inpatients
  • Respond to patient requests and helping with medical needs
  • Be available for emergency visits on call
  • Attend lectures
  • Prepare and deliver case presentations in Cornea Rounds and department-wide Grand Rounds
  • Other tasks, as needed

One-Year vs. Two-Year Fellowship

The standard Cornea Fellowship is an intensive one-year program. About 90% of the time is spent providing clinical care, with the rest available for research. Most fellows spend research time performing clinically oriented studies, including reviews, case series, and book chapters.

Fellows with a serious interest in basic or clinical research can dedicate an additional year—typically before the clinical year—to both research and academic development. Prospective fellows who want to pursue a research year should contact Dr. Reza Dana, Director of the Cornea Service.


This fellowship is accredited by the Association of University Professors of Ophthalmology Fellowship Compliance Committee (AUPO FCC).


  • Program Directors: James Chodosh, MD, MPH, and Hajirah N. Saeed, MD
  • Program length: 1 or 2 years (beginning in July)
  • Number of fellows accepted per year: 2 for one-year fellowship, 1 for two-year fellowship
  • SF Match numbers: 4253 (for the 1-year program) and 4292 (for the 2-year program)
  • Additional faculty: Peggy Chang, MD; Joseph Ciolino, MD; Reza Dana, MD, MPH, MSc; Emma C. Davies, MD; Claes H. Dohlman, MD, PhD; Kathryn Hatch, MD; Deborah Jacobs, MD; Ula Jurkunas, MD; Z. Katie Luo, MD, PhD; Samir Melki, MD, PhD; Roberto Pineda, MD; Aisha S. Traish, MD; Jia Yin, MD, PhD

Program Details