Mary C. Whitman, M.D., Ph.D.

Research Summary

Research Summary

Dr. Whitman studies the growth and guidance of the oculomotor nerve in normal development and in complex forms of strabismus, using explants and live imaging in slice cultures from genetically modified mice.  Congenital Fibrosis of the Extraocular Muscles (CFEOM) is a genetic form of strabismus associated with deficits in eye movements, caused by improper innervation of the cranial nerves.  Using a mouse model of CFEOM, she is defining the cues and pathway necessary for proper axon guidance of the oculomotor nerve.

Selected Publications

For a full publication list, please see her CV.

Whitman MC, MacNeill K, Hunter DG. Bifocals Fail to Improve Stereopsis Outcomes in High AC/A Accommodative Esotropia. Ophthalmology. 2016 Apr;123(4):690-6.

Whitman MC, Andrews C, Chan WM, Tischfield MA, Stasheff SF, Brancati F, Ortiz-Gonzalez X, Nuovo S, Garaci F, MacKinnon SE, Hunter DG, Grant PE, Engle EC. Two unique TUBB3 mutations cause both CFEOM3 and malformations of cortical development. Am J Med Genet A. 2016 Feb;170A(2):297-305.

Whitman MC, Vanderveen DK. Complications of pediatric cataract surgery. Semin Ophthalmol. 2014 Sep-Nov;29(5-6):414-20.

Whitman, MC, E Engle, DG Hunter (2015) Congenital Fibrosis of the Extraocular Muscles. Pediatric Ophthalmology Education Center.

Whitman M, Hunter DG, Engle EC. Congenital Fibrosis of the Extraocular Muscles. 2004 Apr 27 [Updated 2016 Jan 14]. In: Pagon RA, Adam MP, Ardinger HH, et al., editors. GeneReviews® [Internet]. Seattle (WA): University of Washington, Seattle; 1993-2016.

View a complete list of publications on>>



2001: A.B., Biochemical Sciences, Harvard College

2008: Ph.D., Neurobiology, Yale University

2009: M.D., Yale School of Medicine

Postgraduate Training

2010: Internship, Medicine, New York University

2013: Residency, Ophthalmology, Columbia University

2014: Fellowship, Pediatric Ophthalmology, Boston Children’s Hospital

Selected Honors

2000: Fellowship, Harvard College Research Fund

2007: Association for Chemoreception Sciences Student Travel Award

2009: The Selma and Karl Folkers Prize in Biochemical Research

2012: B. Dobli Srinivasan Award Best Clinical Research Paper, Edward S. Harkness Eye Institute, Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons

2013-2014: Heed Foundation Fellow