Elizabeth Rossin, M.D., Ph.D.

Harvard Medical School

Instructor in Ophthalmology, Department of Ophthalmology

Massachusetts Eye and Ear

Director, Ocular Trauma Service (2018-2019)

Research Summary

Dr. Rossin's clinical and basic research in ophthalmology has focused on the genetics of diabetic retinopathy, as well as the development of novel network-based algorithms to understand the impact of genetic variation and therapeutic targeting of both human and viral proteins. Notably, in 2016, she was the inaugural recipient of the Gragoudas-Folkman Award for resident research.

Selected Publications

  1. E. J. Rossin, D. VanderVeen D, Y. Yonekawa. Bilateral immediate sequential vitrectomy and lensectomy for bilateral lens dislocation in severe neonatal Marfan syndrome. In press. OSLI Retina 2018.
  2. E. J. Rossin, D. VanderVeen D, Y. Yonekawa. Anterior-posterior persistent fetal vasculature with multiple stalks: Persistent vasa hyaloidea propria.” In Press. Journal of Vitreoretinal Diseases. 2018.
  3. E. J. Rossin & D. M. Wu. CRISPR-based Gene Editing: A Guide for the Clinician. Int Ophthalmol Clin. 2017 Fall;57(4):151-164.
  4. A. Lundby*, E. J. Rossin, et al. Annotation of loci from genome-wide association studies using tissue-specific quantitative interaction proteomics. Nat Methods. 2014 Aug;11(8):868-74. (Co-first author)
  5. Rossin EJ, Lage K, Raychaudhuri S, Xavier RJ, Tatar D, Benita Y; International Inflammatory Bowel Disease Genetics Constortium, Cotsapas C, Daly MJ. Proteins encoded in genomic regions associated with immune-mediated disease physically interact and suggest underlying biology. PLoS Genet. 2011 Jan 13;7(1):e1001273



Harvard-MIT Health Sciences and Technology, MD, PhD

Postgraduate Training

Ophthalmology Residency, Harvard Medical School


2008: OEP Award for research in Gastroenterology at Mass General Hospital, HMS research grant

2009: MIT Idea-Squared Award for Research

2011: Early Career Investigator Program Award at the 2011 WCPG conference

2012: Medical Scientist Training Program funding (full medical school tuition and stipend)

2014: Harvard Medical School Graduation Award for Excellence in Research

2016: Gragoudas-Folkman Award for Residents