Reza Dana, M.D., M.Sc., MPH

Harvard Medical School

Claes H. Dohlman Professor of Ophthalmology, Department of Ophthalmology
Co-director, Cornea Center of Excellence
Vice Chair for Academic Programs
Director, Harvard-Vision Clinical Scientist Development Program

Massachusetts Eye and Ear

Director, Cornea and Refractive Surgery Service
Associate Chief for Academic Programs
Director, Cornea, Refractive Surgery, and External Disease Fellowship

Schepens Eye Research Institute of Massachusetts Eye and Ear

Senior Scientist

Research Summary

Center/Research Area Affiliations

Research Summary

Dr. Dana conducts both basic and translational research in the field of corneal and transplantation immunology. His basic research is focused on the molecular and cellular regulation of ocular surface immunity. In particular, he is interested in the role of different cytokines and chemokines in induction of alloimmunity(transplantation) and autoimmunity (dry eye disease), as well as the function and regulation of regulatory T cells in maintaining immune homeostasis and tolerance. Dr. Dana's translational research has led to several successful physician-sponsored IND applications to the FDA and has focused on application of novel cytokine-based strategies for immune modulation. His research is supported by several NIH R01 and DOD grants.

Selected Publications

Chen L, Hamrah P, Cursiefen C, Zhang Q, Pytowski B, Streilein JW, Dana MR. Vascular endothelial growth factor receptor-3 mediates induction of corneal alloimmunity. Nat Med. 2004 Aug;10(8):813-5. Epub 2004 Jul 4. PubMed PMID: 15235599.

Cursiefen C, Chen L, Saint-Geniez M, Hamrah P, Jin Y, Rashid S, Pytowski B, Persaud K, Wu Y, Streilein JW, Dana R. Nonvascular VEGF receptor 3 expression by corneal epithelium maintains avascularity and vision. Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2006 Jul 25;103(30):11405-10. Epub 2006 Jul 18. PubMed PMID: 16849433; PubMed Central PMCID: PMC1544098.

Chauhan SK, El Annan J, Ecoiffier T, Goyal S, Zhang Q, Saban DR, Dana R. Autoimmunity in dry eye is due to resistance of Th17 to Treg suppression. J Immunol. 2009 Feb 1;182(3):1247-52. PubMed PMID: 19155469; PubMed Central PMCID: PMC2630586.

Lee HK, Chauhan SK, Kay E, Dana R. Flt-1 regulates vascular endothelial cell migration via a protein tyrosine kinase-7-dependent pathway. Blood. 2011 May 26;117(21):5762-71. doi: 10.1182/blood-2010-09-306928. Epub 2011 Apr 1. PubMed PMID: 21460247; PubMed Central PMCID: PMC3110033.

Amparo F, Dastjerdi MH, Okanobo A, Ferrari G, Smaga L, Hamrah P, Jurkunas U, Schaumberg DA, Dana R. Topical interleukin 1 receptor antagonist for treatment of dry eye disease: a randomized clinical trial. JAMA Ophthalmol. 2013 Jun;131(6):715-23. doi: 10.1001/jamaophthalmol.2013.195. PubMed PMID: 23599118.

View Publications on Google Scholar >>



1989: MPH, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
1989: MD, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
2005: MSc, Health Care Management, Harvard University

Postgraduate Training

Greater Baltimore Medical Center, (7/1/1989 - 7/1/1990)
Illinois Eye & Ear Infirmary, (7/1/1990 - 7/1/1993)
Wills Eye Hospital, (7/1/1993 - 7/1/1994)
Massachusetts Eye And Ear Infirmary, (7/1/1994 - 7/1/1995)
Harvard Medical School, Fellow (7/1/1994 - 6/1/1996)
Harvard University, (7/1/2003 - 5/1/2005)


1996 - Named Fellow of the Society of Heed Fellows (Special Recognition Award)
1996 - Clinical Scientist Career Award
1999 - Invited Participant
1999 - William and Mary Greve Scholar (RPB Special Scholar Award)
2000 - Second Decade Society (alumni honor)
2002 - Achievement Award
2002 - Kronfeld Memorial Lecturer
2002 - Fry Memorial Lecturer
2003 - Cogan Award
2003 - Dohlman Lecturer
2004 - Alta Lecturer and Visiting Professorship
2004 - Keynote Speaker
2005 - Physician Scientist Merit Award
2006 - Service Recognition Award
2007 - Certificate of Appreciation
2008 - Alcon Research Institute Award
2009 - 2010 Lew R. Wasserman Merit Award
2011 - David Easty Lecturer
2011 - Joaquin Barraquer Lecturer
2012 - Chancellor’s Award in Neuroscience and Ophthalmology
2012 - Mentoring Award
2013 - Gold Fellow
2013 - Keynote Speaker
2013 - Senior Scientific Investigator Award
2014 - A. Clifford Barger Excellence in Mentoring Award
2014 - Thygeson Lecturer